Tags

,


So, today is my birthday.  Which, at 46, basically means that your Facebook page blows up with well-wishes from people I won’t connect with until it’s their birthday and there might be a cake involved.  Maybe.

Today was nice though as I reconnected with a good friend.

We used to be best friends.  We talked daily, I babysat her kids, I even worked with her for a time.

But, we moved away.  And then I got crazier.  And there is really only so much that people can take when you are NEVER happy.

It’s not like she was ever rude about it.  Nothing could be further from the truth.  It’s just that we stopped talking as much.  And I noticed it.  But I didn’t know what to do about it.

I would bring it up in therapy occasionally.  Oh, she must not like me anymore ’cause I never hear from her.  And then I would call her and everything would of course be fine.  But she’s got a husband and two kids and owns her own business and she’s got shit going on.  I have a lot of time on my hands and nothing terribly interesting to talk about except for my eternal unhappiness.

But, today she called me, to wish me happy birthday and we talked like we used to talk. And when we hung up she said “love you mama” which she always used to say.

And it makes me feel great.

Best present I could have gotten

