I used to be able to stick up for the little guy.  I used to be able to have a civilized discussion..not an argument.  And I used to be able to walk away from extreme toxicity.

Not anymore.  I have to pursue the toxic person and try to make them see reason.  I have to make them understand that they are just spouting words they were taught and aren’t thinking with their own brain.

And it’s slowly driving me more crazy than I already am.

Because there are certain people who cannot be reasoned with.  There are people out there who believe things with such fervor that they cannot even have a discussion where it appears they might be wrong.  They will suddenly change course and go in another direction because there is no possible way they can accept that another opinion might actually have merit.

And that last bit makes me want to chew off my own arm.

I had a conversation with someone like that this morning.  It’s someone I used to be friends with on Facebook.  We went to high school together.  He’s a nice guy.  Until the subject of politics comes up.  He is a Republican through and through.  If a Democratic candidate ever said the things that Donald Trump has been saying he would speak out against that candidate at every opportunity.   But now that a Republican is saying it, it’s just a smidge from the Donald’s mouth to God’s ear.

I unfriended this person a few years ago.  Having these discussions was anxiety inducing (I’m fighting a panic attack now) and ridiculous.  But, he’s still friends with my friends and I got baited into this fight this morning.

And, now I’m pissed at myself.  I’m angry for not walking away from something that I knew was going to be stressful.  I’m angry for allowing myself to be baited into a conversation that was stupid.

May I just say this?  No politician is infallible.  No republican, no democrat, no independent, no libertarian….no one.  Just because you are registered to a particular political party doesn’t mean that there aren’t discussions to be had.

It’s widely acknowledged that the three conversations you never get into are politics, religion and abortion.  They are guaranteed to start fights.  But I guarantee, that if we could all just get a grip and LISTEN to others that we may find we’re not all so far apart as we may think.

